Parliament’s Appointments Committee will from Wednesday, June 2, 2021, begin the vetting of President Akufo-Addo’s nominees for deputy ministerial positions..

A list released by the Jubilee House names 39 deputy Minister nominees and one Minister of State nominee.

The exercise, which will end on Tuesday, June 15, will begin at 10:00 am each day according to the public notice.

The 39 deputy Minister nominees were appointed for 24 Ministries.

Ten of the nominees are women. Also featured are first-time Members of Parliament like Hassan Tampuli and John Ampontuah Kumah.

A number of Ministers also maintained their portfolios from President Akufo-Addo’s first term, including Abena Osei-Asare at the Finance Ministry, Mohammed Amin Adam, William Owuraku Aidoo at the Energy Ministry, Osei Bonsu Amoah at the Local Government, Decentralisation & Rural Development and Tina Mensah at the Health Ministry, among others.

Meanwhile, a former deputy Minister of Finance, Charles Adu-Boahen, has been nominated as the Minister of State at the Ministry of Finance.

According to the statement from the presidency, President Akufo-Addo is hopeful that, “just as was done for his Ministers, Parliament will, on a bi-partisan basis, expedite the approval of his Deputy Ministerial nominees, so they can join the government forthwith, and assist in the delivery of his mandate for his second term in office.