Former New Patriotic Party (NPP) Constituency Chairman for the Fomena Constituency in the Ashanti Region Kwasi Nti Asamoah says he is shocked that the Regional Secretary of the party Sam Pyne is made to go through vetting to become Mayor of Kumasi after several years of serving the party.

He is also shocked that there are people who openly contesting him after all these years of selfless service to the New Patriotic Party(NPP) in the Ashanti region.

To him, this is an indication that the New Patriotic Party(NPP) does not reward loyalty and it’s high time people supporting the party have a second thought about their dedication.

He believes that Sam Pyne should not have been vetted neither should he have been contested by other members of the party for the position considering the kind of work he has done for the New Patriotic Party in the Ashanti region.

Kwasi Nti Asamoah said he actually though Sam Pyne wasn’t an Ashanti but realizing that he was born and bred and have his roots in the Ashanti region, he has been shocked the position is not been given to him on a silver platter.

“I was very shocked to hear that Sam Pyne has to avail himself for vetting to become Kumasi Mayor. What also broke my heart is the fact that he is been contested by some other people. This is very worrying and it tells us that loyalty doesn’t reward in the New Patriotic Party. It tells us that if you give your all to the NPP, you won’t be rewarded.” He revealed on Kumasi-based Angel F monitored by

The former Chairman for the Fomena Constituency indicated that he has realized that the NPP has allowed the Independent Member of Parliament to produce a candidate for the MMDCEs in the District; a move he deems not right but has decided to be quiet about.

Here is the list of people contesting to be Kumasi Mayor

  1. Collins Owusu Amankwaa (former MP for Manhyia North)
  2. Sam Pyne (Ashanti Regional Secretary)
  3. Osei Assibey Antwi (Incumbent Mayor)
  4. Ing Nana Attah Poku (Kumasi Metro Urban Roads Director)
  5. Kennedy Kankam (Former MP for Nhyiaeso)
  6. Kofi Senya (former presiding member for KMA)
  7. Thomas Kusi Boafo (CEO of Public Sector Reforms)
  8. Kofi Owusu Boateng (former secretary Otumfour)
  9. Kwabena Manu

Source: 2021